RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.. I've searched and searched and read what I think are the relevant posts on getting an aftermarket stereo to work on a 2002 RR. I'm still confused as to the solution to the problem.

To top it all off, my RR has an aftermarket unit which apparently came from Crutchfield and is plugged into the harness how "normal," stereos would be. Thus, it sounds horrible. AND I can't determine what stereo was OEM (alpine/Clarion/etc) when reading the posts on this forum, and the how to on Nexxia.com.

What I'm most confused about is the apparent disagreement on pre-outs v. built in amp/speaker leads. I'm no electrical engineering genius, but it's my understanding that it doesn't matter what the H/K amp output is (OHMS) are if it's being fed a signal from a pre-out. Yet there are posts suggesting the opposite.

Bear with me on this one.. RCA Pre-out to amplifier, whether it's pushing power out at 2/4/70 ohms deals with the signal thats being amplified at the amp and being sent to the speaker (whether wired in series/parallel/or some other strange 70 ohm combination.)

For what it's worth, the Head Unit I plan on using has 3 sets of 5V pre-outs. Front/Rear/Sub. So, theoretically... if I can get the signal to the H/K amps... it's all good..

Right? Wrong? Shoot myself now and save you guys the trouble of responding?

Thanks in advance

G

·
0 Posts
I cant help you on the aftermarket stereo part, but your original head unit was an Alpine. Clarion was up to mid 99, then Alpine from then on. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Which would lead to a follow up question/assumption. Would that mean the Pioneer changer located in the boot is aftermarket? hmmmmm

time to rip stuff apart! Yay! I love a good excuse to do that!

·
Registered
537 Posts