RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to the thread and to the world of Range Rovers, don't roast me too hard. I'm a long time Subaru owner and decided to make the jump to a 1994 RRC LWB. I bought it local, and it is my daily driver. It has been running fine for about 600 miles but just recently threw code 44. I have done my research on here and it seems as though it can be any of the following: O2, timing, ignition, distributor, plugs, MAF and more...some of the advice is also a bit conflicting and convoluted. As my daily I'd like to resolve ASAP. I also have the Mid-Atlantic Rally coming up and would like to attend that.

Naturally, I swapped the left O2 sensor, attempted to reset the OBD Display: Nothing. I then swapped spark plugs from platinums to iridiums - previous owner installed wrong ones - and still nothing. I then Cleaned the MAF and it still wouldn't clear. Would letting it run for a while with the plugs and cleaned MAF help? Will it auto-clear?

What should I do next??? I'm at a complete loss and not sure what to do next.
Check continuity of pigtail?

I'm at a loss at what to do since it seems like it could truly be so much.

Here's what I did in an attempt to clear the code:
1) Turn ignition on
2) Disconnect sereial link (assuming this is the OBD-D), wait 5 seconds, reconnect
3) Switch off ignition. Wait for main relay to drop.
4) Switch on ignition, the display will be blank
5) Repeat if multiple faults

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Hi there,

First of all, congrats on your '94 LWB. That extra few inches of rear-seat legroom and 4.2L engine must be nice!
There's a good chance you've come across this in your research:

The link above recommends checking the O2 sensor wiring first, which can be found in page 223 of RAVE (link below just in case)

Otherwise, the easy culprits to identify are a bad spark plug wire, faulty fuel injector, or a vacuum leak.