RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would you pay an extra $10-15k for a diesel RRS in the states?

Hi all, newbie here.

I have a TDV6 RRS (A black 2009 HSE with 41k miles) and I love it to death. I am moving back to the states and desperately want to bring it with me. I've even spoken to an importer who guarantees all their work in writing for the quote of.....*sigh* $12,876. It's quite extensive and they have an entire list of modifications that they are doing (receipts and photographic evidence), and it'll take me over 2 months to get my car done once it's home. However, this means title in hand, license plates, everything, 100% legal. The RRS is only worth $38k or so here, so that would mean that after I bring it over, I am effectively paying over $50k for a TDV6 when an equivalent 09' supercharged is only $35-$40k in similar condition.

Now I still want to keep my diesel, don't get me wrong, but I am wondering if I am alone in my thinking. Wondering if anyone here (in the U.S.) would pay $50k for a TDV6 or V8?

Thanks!
DieselRRS

·
SUPER MODERATOR
2006-2009 Range Rover Sport
4,461 Posts
Re: Would you pay an extra $10-15k for a diesel RRS in the states?

Not a used one, but certainly a new one would be interesting ,more so the TDV8...at 30 mpg it would be very enticing, plus all that torque too!

·
LIFETIME CONTRIBUTOR
11,014 Posts

I'd be concerned about availability of parts and qualified service, as "factory trained" techs here seem dumbfounded enough with our petrol powerplants, let alone a diesel they have never seen before... Fortunately these engines seem pretty bulletproof.

·
Premium Member
5,175 Posts

I'd be concerned about availability of parts and qualified service, as "factory trained" techs here seem dumbfounded enough with our petrol powerplants, let alone a diesel they have never seen before... Fortunately these engines seem pretty bulletproof.
I'll echo the above.