RangeRovers.net Forum banner

121 - 140 of 156 Posts

·
Registered
2013-2015 Range Rover Sport
Joined
·
238 Posts
Received my tune equipment today in Florida. Only have Mac though so trying to figure a work-around to run the PC software.
I had the same issue and Windows running in VM didn't work. Had to resort to using a real Windows computer to communicate with the programmer.


2015.5 HSE SV6
 

·
Registered
2016 RR Sport SC Dynamic
Joined
·
1,169 Posts
That's great information, thanks for letting me know. Saved me the trouble and money of trying the VM route.

I'm trying to remember if I still have that really old Dell laptop from grad school sitting around somewhere. If not will try it at work tomorrow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Just curious if a FFRR L405 would be able to get the overrun pops and burples since it's the same engine ? Im assuming if VelocityAp can tune it for the RRS SCV8, I would be able to apply it to my FFRR scv8?
 

·
Registered
2016 RR Sport SC Dynamic
Joined
·
1,169 Posts
Used my work laptop to set up Velocity and was able to get the OEM ECU file downloaded after work.

I downloaded the ECU file while the car was in accessory mode. Saw a few error messages on the dash as the instructions stated. When the ECU was downloading the car shut off completely which wasn't the best feeling (the Velocity equipment remained on), but everything quickly returned to normal once the ECU was done downloading.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
110 Posts
If you're running a Mac you might re-try the Velocity software in a VM- I used Parallels the first time I installed the tune and it worked fine. After having to re-install it though am using a PC.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,298 Posts
For some reason the unit I have doesn't have the Range Rover Sport 5.0L as one of the options when I try and download my file from the car. Going to write to Stuart. I wonder if I was shipped the wrong device perhaps?

All i get is the following for RRS (Seen screenshot attached)

velocity_screenshot.jpg
 

·
Registered
2013-2015 Range Rover Sport
Joined
·
48 Posts
For some reason the unit I have doesn't have the Range Rover Sport 5.0L as one of the options when I try and download my file from the car. Going to write to Stuart. I wonder if I was shipped the wrong device perhaps?

All i get is the following for RRS (Seen screenshot attached)

View attachment 262290
Same thing on my end, forgot to mention it in my post. I chose the full-size V8 (Bosch MED17.8.31) and it seemed to read my car. I mentioned this in my email when I sent my stock file over but I haven't heard back from them yet so I don't know what the deal is..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,298 Posts
Same thing on my end, forgot to mention it in my post. I chose the full-size V8 (Bosch MED17.8.31) and it seemed to read my car. I mentioned this in my email when I sent my stock file over but I haven't heard back from them yet so I don't know what the deal is..
Come on 404M3! How could you forget to mention that?! lol
That's a pretty crucial detail bro. It says right in the instructions to select your specific car and engine type ... I think I'll wait for Stuart to respond before I proceed but yeah, I'm pretty sure you've done the right thing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,298 Posts
One other little detail. The instructions call for an external power source (like a battery tender). Did any of you bother with that or did you just plug it and let'er rip?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,298 Posts
FYI, Stuart already responded (like 1 minute after my email) and told me to use the option for Full Size. Got it done and took a really crap video of the process. Already sent off the file to him.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
112 Posts
awesome, cant wait to hear about how it goes and test drive too lol
FYI, Stuart already responded (like 1 minute after my email) and told me to use the option for Full Size. Got it done and took a really crap video of the process. Already sent off the file to him.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,298 Posts
I'm going to start a new thread for this because the title of the thread really is not a good way to search for the process.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts
I didn't use anything. Took less than 10 mins to DL. You can run your engine if you are worried about it.
 

·
Vendor
Joined
·
166 Posts
I didn't use anything. Took less than 10 mins to DL. You can run your engine if you are worried about it.
Absolutely, under no circumstances should you have your engine running when reading or writing the ECU. Or start the engine while it is reading/writing. The ECU needs to be in a stable state, and trying to run it while reading or writing would very likely brick the computer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Ahhh i ordered the tune before the group buy happened since the next group buy wasnt supposed to happen until Fall of 2018 :(

Tune is awesome, i am loving it on my 2014 and have all the Vbox data that supports the extra 100HP! Good job VAP
 

·
Registered
2013-2015 Range Rover Sport
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hey guys,

What fuel are you running with these tunes?
I'm based in South Africa and the best fuel we have here is 95 RON / 91 AKI (91 US) - is this sufficient for the 605hp tune?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Ahhh i ordered the tune before the group buy happened since the next group buy wasnt supposed to happen until Fall of 2018 <img src="http://www.rangerovers.net/forum/images/smilies/icon_sad.gif" border="0" alt="" title="" class="inlineimg" />

Tune is awesome, i am loving it on my 2014 and have all the Vbox data that supports the extra 100HP! Good job VAP
Could u post some before after timings ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
If Stuart is fine with me posting data i will. Its a pretty good change i promise you that. I have videos of me pulling on sports cars. ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts
I run Shell 91 octane (zero ethanol) with pretty good results. We don't really have race gas or anything above 10% ethanol 94 around here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts
Absolutely, under no circumstances should you have your engine running when reading or writing the ECU. Or start the engine while it is reading/writing. The ECU needs to be in a stable state, and trying to run it while reading or writing would very likely brick the computer.
Heh, okay then. That was kind of a mindless post from me as obviously you have to follow the instructions when going through the process. Thanks Stuart.
 
121 - 140 of 156 Posts
Top