RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I'm a Colorado native who just moved back home, looking to purchase a 2017 HSE Dynamic in the next month or so. I am a fine art/landscape photographer and definitely plan to use this thing in the mountains and off-road year-round. I was looking over threads discussing wheel and tire combos and they were all pretty old. Would love to hear your experiences with winter/snow performance for the 21" Style 507 versus the 22" Style 504 on 2014 and newer Sports. I am leaning heavily toward the 507 for year-round use, but I just love the look of the 22s and a small part of me hopes that someone can convince me that they'll be just fine through the winter with the right rubber.

I also know next to nothing about what tires are available, would love any insight or recommendations you might have.

Thanks so much!
Alex

·
Registered
153 Posts
My experience from Chicago having used the base summer or all season standard 20, 21, and 22" tires is that if you do not have true winter tires and there is snow on the ground you have 4 frozen hockey pucks connected to your car. The car is heavy so that helps with normal driving, but any quick acceleration, stopping or turns and you will experience slipping and slidding. I have 21' winter tires that I swap on and it makes a huge difference.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I have 21's with just the all-season Conti's and did fine in snow this winter in Kansas City. However in your situation with the mountains etc. I would swap on dedicated winter tires.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Winter tire selection when you go from 21" to 22" goes from bad to worse.

If you must stick with 21" i highly recommend Nokian R2s (275/40/21) . https://www.nokiantires.com/winter-tires/nokian-hakkapeliitta-r2-suv/ . I have a 20" set of these on my BMW.