RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went to see a 2000 Range Rover 4.6 HSE today. Owner is asking for $3,500, but I found that the EAS (air suspension) was removed and installed coils/springs, etc.
On the dash the ABS, Traction and SRS lights remain on and while test driving there's an intermittent beep? I'm a newbie to this world and have learned quite a lot reading on this forum, but I don't want to get in over my head in repairs. Also, the driver and passenger front windows do not work when I push the buttons, but the back ones do. Could it be door regulators or some electrical short?
Front display says Bonnet open, but both the bonnet and back window and rear door are closed? I spotted coolant (dry) coloring on the passenger side floor rug area, but it was not wet. Owner said he cleaned it but it has not leaked since he's bought the vehicle. I know that these suffer from Heater coil ring leak? He has owned it less than a year and has no history records from previous owner. I'm a novice wrench turner and plan on DIY repairs on whatever vehicle I purchase, but would prefer a RR P38. What do you experts think? Go for it or run the other way? If it's a buy how much is it worth in the condition it's in? Thanks in advance for all your suggestions.

·
Registered
146 Posts
It looks like the EAS wasn’t electrically bypassed, the window motors could be dead, the heater core O-rings are leaking, and the bonnet stuff sounds like a gremlin.

Personally I would look for one with EAS intact. It’s an easy system to deal with nowadays, and new bags are cheap.

I also wouldn’t pay $3500 for what you’ve described, especially not a facelift, and with a half completed EAS replacement.

Those are all fixable things by the way, but arguably expensive in price negotiations. You could absolutely rescue this truck, but basically this owner knows nothing about the truck, so you’ll have to take the dive yes wide open

·
Registered