RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I have a 2013 Range Rover Sport (not the SC version). I received a "Transmission Fault" warning message on the dashboard. Restarted the vehicle and the message went away and hasn't come back. Was this an anomaly common to these vehicles and should I be worried/not worried? Or just take in and have the dealer tell me there's nothing wrong?

Just before the warning flashed, the letter P (for Park) was flashing on and off which was odd. I turned off the truck and restarted it, and that's when I saw the fault transmission message.

Thank you,
RRS2013

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Follow up to my thread above. The "transmission fault" message is on all of the time now, as soon as I place it in drive. Taking truck to dealership for service. Bummer considering the vehicle has just over 30K miles on it.

·
Registered
208 Posts
I am NO expert at all on any of these issues. However, I had the same message. I looked at the actual fault message using the GAP IID Tool and checking here for possible answers. It seemed to me that it was a one-time electrical fault. I cleared the fault with the Tool and it never came back.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So, the dealer discovered the issue. Apparently, they've seen it with other Range Rovers. They stated that there was a short in the passenger side visor, a wire had come too close to a screw. I did ask them if this was something that happened at the factory but they didn't have an answer here. But, they said that the short in the visor caused a fuse to blow, and that same fuse also controls the electrical for the gear shift which all led to the "transmission fault" message. Is this all plausible? I've got a 1.5 years left on warranty so if it is a transmission problem I guess it will show it's ugly head.

·
Registered
208 Posts