RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to the scene. I have a 2003 RR HSE 4.4 which is troubled. When I floor the accelerator pedal there is a noise coming from the front end. Soon after that I get a Ding and then the transmission failsafe prog, a loud clunk, and the Low range light comes on. Sometimes when i shut it down and restart it will restart in low range. Then I have to crawl under the RR and disconnect the Transfer box wires and reconnect. Usually when I unplug the transfer box and re plug it, the transmission failsafe goes away. It will also do this sometimes when i get up to speeds over 65mph. RSW allcoms gives me these codes. Transmission interface bus fault, sensor short circuit to ground, sensor short circuit to battery,noise on actuator signal, shift to high, motor a short circuit to ground, motor a and b open load, encder signal error. It also did this while going up a steep bank offroad. Any suggestions? I was thinking about replacing the Transfer box motor. Thanks RRKevin

·
LEGACY VENDOR
2,369 Posts
I would suspect low battery voltage first and then maybe the shift motor potentiometer if the battery turns out to be okay.

Phil

·
Registered
1 Posts
had all this with my 2002 v8 vogue been to main dealers all they want to do is sell you a new tranny for capital gain don't be fooled i have a 116000 mile car showing same fault took mine to an indi to have fault codes read and this is a transmission transfer box motor fault sounds odd i know but trust me when this fails the can bus electrical system on these things kicks in replaced motor all ok now if your car goes into this mode if you turn off then back on and it shifts ok just for a while but repeats trans failsafe after that just replace the transfer box motor job done

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4