Range Rovers Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2013-2015 Range Rover Sport
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
Despite searching the internet, calling shops and emailing Atlantic British, I cannot get a consensus on spec for these fluids in the L494. No one seems to have a service kit put together for these like our other vehicles except the engine oil kit I got from FCP Euro (great site). Even Atlantic British was a dead end. I searched our forum but nothing came up specifically for the L494. Lots of threads for other models/years. Our 2014 RRS is coming up on its 6th birthday so I'd like to baseline everything as the dealers won't give me a service history from a previous owner.... (if anyone has a workaround for this issue, let me know as well). Any input would be appreciated. I plan on getting a short term TOPIx subscription for torque specs, etc. as I do the work so perhaps they'll also have fluid specs but I have no experience with TOPIx. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
764 Posts
I thought I saw somewhere that these are all sealed units and do not have serviceable fluids. Unfortunately I cannot find where I saw this. My 2014 has 72K and I have neither changed my fluids nor been propositioned to do so by the dealer.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've heard this about other units but in my mind, if there is a drain hole, a fill hole or something that can pass for either, it gets serviced.
I believe the transmission takes "Genuine ZF Lifeguard Transmission Fluid 8, 1 Litre LR023288"

·
Registered
2015 Range Rover Sport SCV8 HSE Dynamic
795 Posts
Check the workshop manual in my sig, it contains all the fluids specs

Do NOT believe the 'fill for life' crap that LR advertises, the ZF gearbox should be serviced every 80,000-100,000 km, depending on how hard you drive, tow, off-road, etc.

I had the local ZF shop service mine on 70,000km just after I bought it just for peace of mind.

Reactions: SlimPickins

·
Registered
5 Posts