RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
4.4l 2003 zf5 trans...
I keep getting random trans fail safe mode.
Most of the time it will register but not actually engage 4th gear fail safe mode. If i turn off the truck and restart or move shifter through gears several times then restart it will not come back on for random period of time.

Finally got a P1709 engine light.

Anyone have experience with this? I am an ase certified master tech with my own shop, this is my personal vehicle i just recently picked up.
I am planning on taking the inhibitor switch off...drilling out the rivets and inspecting the switch internals...then doing a resistence check on the wire harness. If this is all good then i suppose a resistance check on the wire harness to ECU wires.

From what i've read on the forums it's either this switch or an internal seal in the trans...

Is there anything obvious that could be causing this?? It's really bad when it SLAMS into 4th gear i dont want the transmission to be damaged. Everything else seems to be running very well. Trans shifts fairly smooth and the torque converter chatter went away after i service the trans with new filter and a really good flushing.

·
LEGACY VENDOR
2,342 Posts
Issues with the inhibitor switch generally flag the P0705 code.

Is the transfer box shift motor potentiometer behaving itself (i.e. are there any problems shifting into low range and then back in to high again)? This potentiometer is a very common cause of the TRANS FAILSAFE PROG message.

I’m sure you’re aware that low battery voltage is the most common cause for the message.

Phil

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
78 Posts
Phil,