RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Hello and good Sunday to you all.

Real life scenario here. I know there are a lot of individuals who tow 5000 lbs with there RRS with no problem and actually think it’s a great towing vehicle.

I will be going on a 2.5 week trip from Lake Tahoe to Sedona to Durango and back to Tahoe in the spring and am making arrangements for that trip- will be going over many mountain passes in Nevada, California, Utah and Colorado.

I am in a bit of a conundrum and am seeking advice here as my local dealer has basically zero experience with regards to towing and I am new at this as well.

As much as I WANT to bring MY17 RRS HSE SC Dynamic, I am not sure it can handle the job safely.

RRS HSE Dynamic:

HP: 380
Torque: 332 lbs-ft.
Max Tongue weight: 770 lbs.
Max Towing: 7700 lbs.
Max Payload: 1775 lbs. (not 100% about his number- just a google search)

Grand Design 2150RB:

Length: 26’9”
UVW: 5295 lbs.
GVWR: 6695 lbs.
Hitch Weight: 427 lbs.
RRS is capable of towing 7700. This leaves 1005lbs safety margin if we are looking at just GVWR.

Now, the weight of my myself, my wife plus a 100lb German Shepherd is right around 400lbs.

I will have 2 full tanks of propane on the camper = an extra 40 lbs. + battery (30 lbs.)

Correct me if I’m wrong, but the payload of the RRS is 1770 lbs. So I am good there.

Max Tongue Weight for RRS = 770. Camper hitch weight is 427lbs + 40 lbs. (2 propane tanks) + 30 lbs (battery) = 497 lbs. Looks like I would be good here with a margin of safety of 270 lbs.

Max Tow is 7700. I am not sure if I need to include the weight of my wife, the dog and I in this figure. If I don’t then I’m good by a margin of 700 lbs. If not, then I am cutting it close by a margin of 300 lbs. which means I would have to run the trailer with a light load IF I decided to use the RRS.