RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I'm new to the FFRR and I'm in a long wheel base so I have the 21 inch tires. I have seen several tire threads about the howling noise especially with 22 inch rims but the 21's have some noise as well. It gets very noticable around 65 mph and less so on both sides of that speed but still there. Different road types do affect the loudness of the howling but it seems to always be present at some level. Added to that when I hit seems in the road I get this ping ping ping noise like a basketball that is over inflated and you thumped it.

I see the sticky above that talks about tires that you can swap for but has anyone swapped to tires that have eliminated this problem? I would definitely say my Escalade at this point was much quieter even on 22's. Any RECENT feedback out there? TIA!

·
Registered
152 Posts
I have the stock Continental CrossContact LX on my 2014 ATB's 22 inch style 7 wheels. Absolutely no howling sounds at highway (or other) speeds.

One thing I do is inflate the tires to the "comfort" levels, at somewhat lower PSIs than standard. I set the TPMS accordingly too. The ride is sublime at cruising speeds and pretty much the same during hard acceleration and cornering.

What a sweet car!

·
Registered
2010-2012 Range Rover MkIII / L322
201 Posts
I have the stock Continental CrossContact LX on my 2014 ATB's 22 inch style 7 wheels. Absolutely no howling sounds at highway (or other) speeds.

One thing I do is inflate the tires to the "comfort" levels, at somewhat lower PSIs than standard. I set the TPMS accordingly too. The ride is sublime at cruising speeds and pretty much the same during hard acceleration and cornering.What a sweet car!
I have the same spec wheels/tires and I find the ride somewhat "brittle"
Can you advise what pressures you adjusted to and how you set the TPMS?

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter #4