RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1993 Range Rover LWB
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I adjusted the timing on my 4.2 RRC to Rave specs at idle with no issues. I'm a newbie to timing and have a question: with the vacuum line unplugged, if I increase the throttle to higher rpms, shouldn't the timing advance due to the mechanical advance in the distributor? With the vacuum line unhooked, my timing barely moved (no more than a degree or two at higher RPMs.) Is this normal? Do I have an issue with the springs/weights in my distributor?

Thanks much.

·
Registered
1970-1995 Range Rover Classic
286 Posts
There are so many factors to consider here - attempting to responding on a basic level.

To answer your question regarding 'normal' - the answer is possibly.

The vacuum advance exist to allow the mechanical distributor to 'keep up' as throttle is applied.

If everything is OEM - the springs and advance are properly functioning (as new) - you may see 2-4 degrees of advance change with the vacuum disconnected: 12-16 degrees of advance at 2500 -3000 RPMS.

However, with the vacuum advance connected you should see 22-24 degrees of advance - this is loosely considered 'total time' - if you only ran at WOT it would be total time and the vacuum advance would not be needed.

Once you change the CAM and modify the fuel/air ratio - you may choose to customize the spring and advance rates of the distributor to a specific RPM to align with a CAM - not many options available, sadly.

Again - all high level stuff - lots of internet info to read.

Only responding to assist - best of luck!

·
Registered
1993 Range Rover LWB
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are so many factors to consider here - attempting to responding on a basic level.

To answer your question regarding 'normal' - the answer is possibly.

The vacuum advance exist to allow the mechanical distributor to 'keep up' as throttle is applied.