RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greets,

Long time lurker, first time poster ;) Great resource you have here!

I searched around but due to my incompetence as a newbie i need your advice.

I found a local (less than 45 min away) 1998 4.0 p38a for $1900 in good condition and seemingly good maintenance up until her husband passed away about a year ago.

Since then the rangie has developed some EAS issues, (before anyone suggests castration, not what I'm wanting to do :) )

Seems that the front end will not lift off of the bump stops, back end seems to be working satisfactory. I have no problem reservations and plan on replacing all of the air bags and a valve block rebuild (o-rings and such)

I have not had a chance to crawl under it to look for anything obvious yet.

my question is other than the above could anything else be causing the problem? Any hints on specifics to look for?

Thanks in advance!!!

Below are some pics

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
3,622 Posts
Personally, I would pounce on that deal, install a MARS kit to get you around until you figure out the problem...and love it.

·
Registered
1,107 Posts
I'm with Kmag assuming all else is good. It looks like its hard faulted. The MARS kit, an RSW Buddy Box, and pressure gauge from Rover Renovations will make diagnosis easy. I think $1K would be a worst case scenario. Otherwise, make sure you have no faults in the AC system (manual with exclamation in temp display window) and that its running good. What's the mileage?

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have pretty much made up my mind on getting it, at this point there seems to be nothing else wrong with it that i can see, heater works good, cant really test the AC as its 33 degrees outside lol