RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
before i start hi i'm new at this lol
is it possible to run both the t4 and ids on the same install of xp pro as was having a few problems t4 worked fine then install ids and no more t4 cheers for any help

·
Registered
219 Posts
Not necessarily a dedicated laptop, a dedicated partition will do the job. I have both Ford & JLR IDS running happily together on one laptop.

·
Registered
820 Posts
You need to partition the drive to seperate the jaguar/landrover & ford/mazda. But you still need a dedicated laptop for the IDS.

I've tried everything over the year to try & add the vehicle explorer but it's not having it.

·
Registered
520 Posts
They can be ran on the same Laptop
After all that's how it all started out. But i don't and won't recommend it.

At the risk of boring the pants of anyone and everyone, i shall none the less share what i know or think i know. :geek:
In the beginning or about 2000 i believe
On the Land Rover side, all the dealers were using a dedicated hardware platform called TestBook 1, 2 or 3 made by Omitech, which Rover also used
On the Ford side, all dealers were using a dedicated hardware platform called WDS (Worldwide Diagnostic System) which Jaguar also used. this was made by Genrad and was really just a re badged GDS3500 unit.

Land Rover However had just introduced T4, and pushed its dealers into trading in their dedicated hardware for the T4's Dell Laptop with an add on ethernet vehicle interface module that was put in either a docking or mobile box.
That's about where Ford bought Land Rover.
In order not to upset the newly upgraded Dell Dealer owners they got Genrad to put the interface Capabilities of the GDS3500 into an add on unit called the GNA600 that could be plugged into the same Dell laptop. Thus Adding WDS to the T4 system. The Red Brick we all know today as IDS