RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have been meaning to fix the reach pert of the system for the steering adjustment for some time but now find I am forced to address it because the tilt went 'floppy' before jamming at the lowest setting. Preliminary investigation with a mirror reveals that it looks like there is a breakage on part of the mechanism meaning that the stirrup guide can traverse left and right freely. I could get a full upper steering column imported for somewhere between NZ$1,500 and $2,500 depending on age and shipping costs but would prefer to take the thing out and make a piece to replace what looks like a broken alloy casting. Has anyone tried this before? I am a metallurgist by trade so have no problem with access to manufacturing equipment locally but am based in rural south island New Zealand so big city dealerships are out.

·
Banned
2006-2009 Range Rover MkIII / L322
177 Posts
you can buy one of those pieces seperatly online i have seen one before for sale on ebay i will try to find the listing

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have just gotten the same problem. Looking forward for the assistance in buying the peace separately. My short term solution has been to fix the steering wheel in the highest position. I have used aviation safety wire which is strong and thin. The wire is routed around the remaining alloy tap and around the bolt on the right side - no interference with the steering mechanism. Also I have removed the small tap between the tilt motor and the rotating shaft. the only problem is that the tilt motor is running which i have to stop by tapping the elevation control arm. Short term solution :)
Jens, Denmark

·
Registered
60 Posts