RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hoping to get some input from people who have done this or are mechanics by trade or hobby:
it's high time to replace my rod ends, damper, and ball joints. they are worn out and i'm doing all of them b/c i'm at 145k and they all look very old and worn, if not original in some cases. my question is this:

from a time and money standpoint, is it more economical and practical to just buy a complete drag link and complete track rod, rather than paying someone to battle the ends alone, just to initially save some money on parts, then piss it away on labor? my work schedule does not permit me to do this DIY, and i try and spend my one day off a week with my wife and baby, who do not consider turning wrenches quality time. could anyone with experience weigh in? thanks in advance. yes i have rave, zubi's and smooth's smashing post on ball joints/ends, and have educated myself through search. the only thing i don't have on my side is time.

·
JACK'S GRANDAD
9,244 Posts
I just replaced the entire linkage with all new. Tie rod and drag link complete. The bonus was that they came the right length thus saved me an alignment :thumb:
I still did a home alignment with my caster/camber gauge and measured the toe in afterwards, but both were spot on.
I got them from a vendor for AB IIRC.
I just replaced the tre's on my big rig with new pieces, and the time it took to remove the old tre's (needed lots of heat!) would have cost me more than replacing the complete tie rod assembly had a shop been doing the work.
Just my .02

Martin

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #3