RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm very new with the M62 engine.

I'm having a problem that isn't consistent, being the engine will stall on cold start ups, will eventually run a little rough, then be perfect. Randomly will stall in park or neutral but never in drive or reverse. It has an issue at idle it seems. Will hold around 600rpm then just dip down. Sometimes it'll bounce back, others will need to be restarted and it'll then run fine again. Feels like it'll shutter randomly like a misfire every now and them.

Codes
-P1173 - Not sure on definition, possible cracked exhaust pipe around cats, unsure
-P1171 - Lean bank 1
-P1174 - Lean bank 2

So far I have replaced :

-Both up stream 02 sensors
-MAF
-Air filter
-PCV system and hoses
-Spark Plugs
-Fuel filter
-Intake gaskets
-Bunch of coolant related issues

Any thoughts? I've read about the IACV but besides the main throttle, I don't see anything else

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Extra observation, if you are idling with the AC on, and turn it off, the RPMS will dip to about 250ish then come back up.

·
Premium Member
2010-2012 Range Rover MkIII / L322
277 Posts
I had this problem with MY06 Jag engine at low speed crawl during traffic etc. Idle would bounce and then the engine would stall.

After exhausting a lot of the same options:

Turned out to be a really gooey throttle body. I would clean it and over time it would gum up causing the valve to not close or open from closed properly. Had both the bank lean/mix code errors pop, everything.

To clean I use a rag and a medium duty cleaner lile MAF cleaner but maybe even brake cleaner might work if its super dirty. My understanding is there can be damage if you use something too strong.