RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I blew the head gaskets on my 87 rrc and ive never done head gaskets before.... anyone want to shed some light on the difficulty of doing this i'd prefer not to take it to a shop because im a full time student so my cash flow isnt that great lol thanks in advance

·
Registered
91 Posts
Buddy…I’m in the same boat with my 1995 4.2 (sort of, except probably with better cash flow). There is plenty of information on this site and the job seems pretty straightforward; get a manual (RAVE manual is helpful, search the site, it’s downloadable, Haynes manual, etc), order the parts and go to it.

Keeping in mind that I also have never done it; here is my personal plan of attack:

1. Visually inspect the left bank through the oil-filler spout using a flashlight and whatever else might help you take a good look (I used an old dental mirror). I read a nice “quick-and-dirty” reference (here or on some other site, can’t remember) that made sense: One extreme was “clear and bright” suggesting a new engine and the other extreme was “black and sludgy” suggesting beyond repair. In between were light, medium and dark brown without sludge suggesting various stages of salvage-ability. Mine was medium brown, nice patina, no sludge at 150k miles.

2. Perform a compression test (read up on how to do it, you’re a student, right? I got a nice tool at Harbor Freight for $20) because there is no use doing the top-end if the bottom-end is shot. My own cut-off was 150 psi per cylinder with no more variance than 10% among each cylinder. I got some funky readings (see my post earlier this week “Please help me interpret my compression test”, which no one, save one guy, would comment on) but have decided to go ahead and do it.