Range Rovers Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am test driving a 2001 HSE tomorrow that the seller represents has been well maintained. Even if the seller is telling the truth, there is no warranty as is normally the case with a used car purchase, and as soon as I fork over the cash I am on my own.

This being the case, my only real fear is a slipped sleeve. The myriad of other potential problems are expected and I am prepared to deal with them. But I would like to avoid as best as possible a truck with a slipped sleeve.

Is there a way to check for a slipped sleeve during my inspection process short of having a mechanic inspect it?

I am a pretty capable mechanic and have been wrenching on cars since 1976, and I have not had to hire a mechanic in years. The present stable includes a '99 911 and a '95 840Ci which I do all my own work on, so I am used to the level of technology in the RR.

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
1,851 Posts
Hi

The main indication of slipped liner is building up of pressure in the cooling system. After the engine idles and the system gets up to operation temperature try to squeeze the coolant hoses. If these are rock hard then this is an indication that there is trouble with the engine. There is a chemical test that can identify that there are exhaust gasses leaking towards the coolant system in case you are in doubt ask for this test to be done.

Inspect the coolant tank inside it should have clear red or pink colour liquid inside and the inside should look clean without any sludge, foam or suspended solids. They could have added sealer to try to seal up the cracks.

Open the rocker oil top up cap and inspect inside. What you want to see is brown golden coated rocker shafts and rockers. No sludge build up and whitish (mayonaise) coloured oil.

Slipped liner can make a ticking noise when it moves up and down together with the piston.

Good luck

Jos

·
Registered