RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the rover world and want to buy a 1999 Range Rover with a 138,000 miles. What are your Thought about getting into a used rover.

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
Well you won't buy a new one without the aid of a time machine. Much the same as buying any other 20 year old car but with one or two things you won't get on other cars. Make sure it is still on air suspension and doesn't leak (drop it down to access height then raise it back up to normal, it should do it almost instantly) and make sure you get two keys with working fobs.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know I am taking a chance on a used car. I want to make sure this model isn’t a money pit.

·
Registered
984 Posts
What are your intentions for use? I used mine for the last several years as a utility/tow rig/trails etc. I would not recommend it as a daily driver unless you are prepared for quite a bit of maintenance. 138k is pretty low miles but its 21 years old. I love P38's but at their age, I would only use as a second car. Not one for daily commutes.

·
Premium Member
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
243 Posts