RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to RR. I'm looking at a 2004 RR HSE with 68000 miles. The dealer has disclosed that there are 3 problems with the vehicle:
1. A/C works but needs a little feron charge
2. Engine has upper noise that believe to be the lifters from lack of oil change
3. ABS pump is weak sometimes the light comes on and deactivate the suspension

Are these expensive fixes? Should I just keep looking.

Any advice will help.
Thanks for being such an awesome resource,
Anthony

·
Premium Member
2013 & 2016 L405's
972 Posts
I would say it all depends on the price of the vehicle...if you're getting a good deal, for example like maybe $18,000 out the door, then maybe it's not so bad to have to fix the problems. Just look at the overall condition of the Rover and make your decision. You could also ask the seller if they are willing to pay for a full inspection of the Rover at a Land Rover dealership so that can give you an idea of what the repair cost will be and factor that into the price they are asking for the Rover...hope this helps.

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Research this forum as much as you can, particularly for the '03 - 04 model years. When I bought mine, I saw a few problems that the dealer had false explanations for, but because I found much discussion of the same issues here, and was familiar with other ones from experience, I was able to negotiate the price to where I felt it was a good deal.

The Range Rovers are often very high maintenance relative to higher production vehicles, so be fully aware before you buy. If not it can be a good bit more expensive than you anticipated.

Search the MkIII forum in depth, and good luck!

·
Registered
5 Posts