RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased my 2002 Range Rover knowing that it had some issues. The most obvious was the "sagging butt" where the rear air springs leaked when parked.
I am new to Range Rovers and definitely not an advanced mechanic, but I researched the issue and remedy here on the website. After purchasing a new set of air springs, I set out to replace the rear ones this weekend. For all of you that are thinking about it, here are my observations:

Conceptually, this is a pretty straightforward task and the information here on the website is pretty accurate. However, as usually happens, there are some twists and turns along the way.

The access to the retaining clip and hose connection are VERY limited and there is about 1 inch of space to work with (even after removing wheel well).
I needed a helper to hold up the air spring when trying to replace the retaining clip. Mine would not go all the way through the hole on top of the air spring. After spending some frustrating time trying to figure out why and how, I finally had to take it out, heat it with a propane torch, and slightly bend the end up.

The other side had a rusted retaining clip on top that broke off when I tried to pull it out. I could not get any access or bite on it to be able to pull the rest out. I had to drill the plastic top piece around the retaining clip to get it loose and pull it out. After that, the air spring still would not come out (the other side was easy). I had to get a small pry bar to get it loose.

Final problem was the right side air spring still was sagging after installation. I found with soapy water that it was leaking around the hose connection. I cut off 1/4 inch of hose and re-inserted. Then everything was fine.