RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all probably a question thats been asked somewhere before, but being a newbie I need to ask it. My 2.5 dse will not pull away in drive but if I put it in 1 or 2 it's fine then switch to drive & all is well until I stop. I then repeat the process of 1 or 2 then drive? Any IDEAS ON WHAT THE FAULT IS & WHAT COSTS MIGHT BE INCURRED IN REPAIRING IT?:?:

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Quote: "A sprag clutch has "inverted" and will need replacing. No further damage will occur if you continue to drive but you will need to select "1" every time to start moving. A rebuild is required to correct this."

http://www.ashcroft-transmissions.co.uk/frequently-asked-questions/4hp22-faq-s.html

Swapping a gearbox expect to pay around £350 just for labour with an indy.

Ashcrofts rebuild boxes for £1000+. Also Emmotts also supply and fit s/h boxes. Or try Ebay.

·
LEGACY VENDOR
4,159 Posts
I've got a second hand 2.5 DSE gearbox and torque convertor sitting in the workshop at the moment from the last vehicle myself and a mate took apart for spares. Think it's listed on eBay with the transfer case aswell, but can split it if required.

No use to me (sadly as my autobox could do with swapping! it's pretty clunky and whines a lot!) as I've got the V8 with the HP24 box, and this is the HP22.

Drop me a message if you are interested - my other plan for it is just to call up Ashcrofts or someone like that and see if they want to buy it as core for their stock. Wasn't anything wrong with it - fluids were all changed and a nice cherry red when it was removed, but it's taking up space now!

Or as Dave says - Ashcrofts do rebuilt ones - I think they also do a fitting service near Luton too.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Marty,
From memory Ashcrofts offered me just £100 core charge on my old 4HP22 gearbox, so I decided to keep it instead.