RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a used RRS 2019 TD6 HSE. It has the factory hitch/tow package installed. We have a 23' Airstream Flying Cloud. The RRS can tow 7,700 lbs. so there's no issue with weight. But I've been doing some research and I'm reading about things like weight distribution and control. I'm new to trailers and towing and I'm having a hard time figuring this out.

What do I need to be aware of when using the RRS 2019 to tow a trailer? Is there anything I need to do to prepare the RRS to tow the Airstream? Thanks.

·
Registered
59 Posts
I have a 2016 td6 and am considering buying a flying cloud. Based on my research the only thing required to purchase is a trailer brake controller. I am looking at the Curt Echo wireless brake controller because you don’t have to drill holes, cut wires etc. You can control the sensitivity and emergency braking from your phone. Your tire pressures need to be set for heavy load and extended mirrors would be nice.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks @Bamablue! I just purchased another brake controller with wires etc., but I will return it and get the Curt Echo. That looks so much easier. I've been doing more research this morning and have come to a similar conclusion, that the RRS should be able to pull the 23FB without a problem. The 23FB has a hitch weight of 467 lbs, and the RRS has a max hitch weight of 772 lbs.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Okay, now I'm confused again. I posted a similar thread over on the Air Forums (Airstream community), and some are saying that I do, in fact, need a weight-distribution hitch and sway control to properly tow an AS—while others disagree. Here are a few excerpts: