RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi:

I'm new to anything to do with running gear, have a P38 4.6HSE, 265,000 miles (new engine at 83,000, thank you, kids) and just had my rocker arms/ball joints and other suspension gear replaced, along with getting a wheel alignment.

The "expert" alignment guy in Atlanta told me he got the front wheels perfect, but couldn't do the rears. I now know why!

On leaving Atlanta for Taos, NM, I noted a high speed vibration starting at about 60mph that usually indicates a wheel imbalance, so I got them balanced here in Taos (and ran into some other minor problems, like the lug nuts are screwed and need to be replaced). Surprisingly, that really didn't solve the high speed wobble.

Now, within a couple of days of the tire balancing job, I suddenly have a hard and heavy CLUNK going into reverse gear along with a wild low speed wobble.
The wobble/shake/shimmy is so strong, I hesitate to drive the car over 20 mph.

It happened so suddenly, I think it has to be a U-Joint bearing that got ejected? Or a link to the transmission? Or?

So my question is to those of you with this kind of experience, what do you think the vibration can stem from?

I will update this post as I find anything more that might help get an accurate conclusion.

I thank you very much in advance!

Regards from Sunny New Mexico,

Wick Beavers

·
Banned
3,952 Posts
Almost certainly a UJ, especially if they haven't been regularly greased and at that mileage. As for your expert, he sounds like an expert in the true sense of the word, ex = has been, spurt = drip under pressure. How can he not get the alignment right at the rear? You have a live axle, it can never be anything other than right!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Gilbertd! I went under the car, which is quite low since the airbags were changed out to springs and I'm getting gutsy!