RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just realized I posted this in the MKIII forum :oops: . Well, let's try this again:

Hello everyone. I just got a 98 Range Rover HSE this week and I really like it so far. I'm completely new to Range Rovers, and Land Rover in general. I found this site from searching on google and there is so much information its making my head spin. I have been told that the 98 is a GEMS engine (or computer system?) and that this is better because there are less problems than the Bosch engine. Also, my Rover was converted to springs, so I don't need to worry about EAS. I'm kinda worried that it is going to leave me stranded from all of the stories I've read, but so far so good. Thanks in advance for advice.

Joe

·
Registered
453 Posts
welcome Joe,
Fill in your profile so that others can see where your from and which spec p38 you have

Enjoy and share the knowledge

·
Registered
867 Posts
1. He has a 98 4.6 HSE
You are right, it is a GEMS Lucas Rover
2. Actually, Joe, you aren't correct. Usually the GEMS Lucas Rovers are less reliable, but cheaper to fix/maintain. The Bosch Rovers don't break quite as often, but when they do are more to fix.
3. We need pictures. It's a requirement to join the forums, or else we will kick you off (ok,, maybe not, but we all like to see what everyone is driving `)
4. If it doesn't leave you stranded, then you aren't driving it. Don't let this be your only vehicle. That's why I have 3 total Range Rovers, and a Lexus LX470 as well.
5. Congrats on the coil converted truck. Mine has a new air suspension, but if I still own it when all the bags fail, I'll probably do the same. Hear the ride on the coils is a little harsher though.
6. Put a location in your profile.

Welcome! Enjoy being broke like the rest of us.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Roverrad95 said: