RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
Truly loving my RRS HSE Dynamic. its a 2015 plate but 2016 registered.

It seems I have a very basic infotainment, No InCar Play therefore no mirroring of Android, only an Aux and USB port, no Sim Card, plus the terrible sound.

Realistically what is the best possible infotainment upgrade / updates I should/could get from JLR or retrofit?

Again, total newbie to JLR so any help and guidance is welcome.
here's some pics to show what I have.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

·
Registered
131 Posts
That’s about right. You don’t buy a Range Rover for the infotainment system they are pretty bad.

I replaced mine with the 10.25 Android unit that is in this thread :

and use it almost exclusively with CarPlay and really enjoy it.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Hi RNunes - if you just want better sound (not with Android mirroring) , search on this site, there are instructions on how upgrade to Meridian system - not trivial. Otherwise you will need to go for the replacement head unit as previously mentioned. There is a forum on rrsport.co.uk as well, in case you haven't found that yet , but I have found that it is not as hands-on as this one.

·
Registered
131 Posts
They were a buggy mess until around 19B last year. Now they work pretty decently.
I will agree they have gotten better now that they've issued updates for three years. Sadly its a case of going from simply unusable to just functional, not good by a stretch.
You still have to do a dance with it and not touch certain buttons at certain times and when it is working it is very laggy due to under powered processor and GPU.
Some how BMW is the only car maker with a decent infotainment system that just works. Really hope the next generation from JLR is much better.

I didn't by the RRS for infotainment but it really is a let down.

·
Registered
116 Posts