RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've spent some time before posting, done my homework first, looking through other conversations about the fuse box and what appears to be a typical overheating problem at the RL7 relay. I'm seeing a couple of different responses, so I want to make sure I have the latest advice before tinkering. I am a novice mechanic and usually outsource repairs, but I'm also handy, have some tools, and can do stuff so long as I know how to do it. But diagnostics aren't my thing, so I usually don't know how to do what needs to be done. I recently acquired a 1999 P38 in pretty good shape. Just under 109,000. Driven it about 500 miles so far with no problems. Love it. During that time I've watched all the P38 vids on YouTube, read a bunch of threads on this site, and gotten myself a copy of the RAVE workshop manual. So I was poking around and opened up the fuse box the other day to find brown discoloration on the RL7 relay. It needs to be addressed. Some say to replace RL7 with a 40amp relay. If so, where does a guy get one? Again, I'm not well versed in parts or parts acquisition. It's also hard to tell where I can buy RR parts online, so any advice there is appreciated. I'm on U.S. mainland. Happy to order parts from the right place.Others say the problem isn't the relay, but the electrical path prior to the relay. This is where all the soldering and rewiring suggestions happen. I've read over this page, too: https://www.rangerovers.net/repairdetails/electrical/fusebox.html#socketSo, what should I do first? Yank out the relay and look for a replacement? Or should I bust out the soldering kit and get to work? If so, I'll still need to replace the almost-fried relay. Where do I get replacements?Many thanks in advance to those offering suggestions — or just direct me to the thread. Glad this forum is here.

Attachments

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover Classic