RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All - I hate to bring up an old, and some what constant thread that most of you have probably seen and responded to - but I have no choice. I have a 1997 Range Rover 4.0. As usual, one day the windows quit working. I am not a mechanic but I got on-line and read everything (I think) I could find in forums across the internet. Downloaded the Rave manual and went to work. I have literally taken just about everything that can be taken apart in the Rover, cleaned it (and contacts) and put it back together. While this might seem like nothing to most of you, this was a feat for me because I am disabled in that I have a cracked vertebra that loves to move around and arm and leg joints that are shot. Anyway, after putting the Ole Girl back together I was proud of myself in that the Rover actually started and some of the problems I had went away - but the windows. They still are not working. I guess it has to do with the window switch. I took it apart, cleaned it and put it back in. The box that handles the rear view mirror looked the worst, meaning that it was gunked up, etc. I did not take the little actuator apart but I did clean it as best I could; and I did not notice anything else out of the ordinary. Now, to answer the question everyone has been asking themselves by now: Did he check the board and see if it was getting any power? Answer: no! That is because I have no idea on how to do this. I have a digital meter that was given to me, but I am just learning this as I go along. Is there any one who can explain to me how I can use the meter to check the window switch pack to see if it is, in fact, good or not? I surely would appreciate it. Also, in the main engine fuse box the base for relay RL 7 was burned at one time, or another. A person who said he knew how to check it with a meter did so, and said that the base (where the relay is inserted was alright, as well as the rel