RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gang,

I've decided to tackle a front and rear brake pad replacement on my '03 HSE. To be honest, I've been around cars for some time but I've never done a brake pad replacement job before. I reviewed some of the earlier threads using the search function in this forum, but I think I really need a step by step (with pics if at all possible) so I have the confidence to tackle this job from start to finish.

FWIW, I also have the factory WSM for the '03. Not sure how helpful it will be.

Any links you can direct me to?

Thanks all,

ketel

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
linuxfreakus said:
How about the one in the FAQ?
Sorry, but did not see anything there related to brake pad replacement.

Anyone else?

ketel

·
Registered
266 Posts
Beware of bargains.

I changed my complete front brakes last summer using "normal", non-geniune parts. By this spring, they had warped badly enough that the rear brakes had to take over the duty of stopping me. By the time I could check them, all four had to go, and I had to have them done by the dealer at a cost of $1300. (No time for DIY this time.)

If I had done them myself this time, I would have gone with premium parts, and would be sure I cleaned and lubed the calipers and such. Look into the EBC set from roverparts.com or a similar kit, if you aren't into genuine parts. BTW, my dealer only charges $150/axle for labor, and discounts the parts to their own shop - the discount paid for half of the labor, compare to buying dealer parts at retail.

Here is the breakdown for last week's work:
labor, complete $337.50 (0.50, really. Really?)
front linings $154.36 (list $181.60)
rear linings $125.17 (list $147.26)
front disc, each $166.85 (list $196.30)
rear disc, each $120.24 (list $141.46)
sensor assy F/R $38.20/37.82 (list $44.94/44.50)

Parts: $929.73 ($164.09 off list)
Labor $337.50
Total $1267.23