RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,
I'm new to this site and although I've owned a couple of land rovers in my time (1 x series 3 and 1 x series 2a lightweight), I am pretty new to this Range Rover lark. I managed to get my hands on a pretty decent looking '02 RR p38 4.0L petrol Westminster model a couple of weeks ago and have had some issues:

1) Within 3 days of having her, the EAS light came on.
I traced this to the Thomas compressor, changed the seal and away I went again! (£22 for the bit. probably saved myself £500 from gong to a dealer!) - problem solved.

2) Cruise control doesn't appear to do anything.
I'm assuming it's to do with the vacuum system having a leak somewhere but haven't got round to finding it yet - to do.

3) Air con doesn't get cold.
I've looked into this and the compressor isn't engaging. applying power manually (bypassing the relay), the solenoid throws fine and engages everything ok, but still no cold air is blowing. The relay also operates fine. I think there must be a leak in the system somewhere (probably from the condenser at the front since I can see some oil on one of the tubes from it). I'll check this out further at a later date - air con is not my highest priority!

4) THIS IS THE BIGGY!!! IT WON'T START!
Been driving her nicely since I fixed the EAS compressor. Came home last night from work, parked up (slight slope with the nose down) and went inside. Couple of hours later I glanced out and noticed all four indicators on solidly. I wondered if it had had a slight knock from someone while parked, so examined the rear for damage and found no evidence of any. Unlocked, looked inside... nothing. So locked her back up and went in again. Everything seemed fine.