RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2006-2009 Range Rover MkIII / L322
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All-

New owner proud/hesitant owner of a 2008 Ranger Rover HSE with 250K. It's Rimini Red with excellent paint and a very nice interior. Engine sounded very, very good-actually surprised me.

I'm not a total newby to British car arena owning a TR-7 for 35 years and attending many British car events. However, this BMH/BMW/Ford/ZF/Tata beast does leave me a bit 'confuzzled' as my teenagers would say. That being said, I can turn a wrench somewhat competently and can read.

So the previous owner heard a 'clunk' and towed the car to the dealership where it was always maintained. They told her it needed a new transmission. She had it towed home and sold it to me very cheaply. No wrench light is on and it moves in reverse. I will trailer it home this weekend.

So excited about my toy, I am preparing and reading as much as possible! And I have a ton of questions. It seems as if the dealerships seem to want to keep info a little hush hush on these cars compared to the Chevy/Ford/etc crowd.

So here's my beginner questions I need help on:

1- How is the regular Range Rover HSE different than the Sport beside length? Are the engine and tranny swappable? Most parts?

2 - What should I immediately check with the transmission? Obviously I need to check fluid level and condition. Anything else? I realize the 'thunk' could be anything from u-joints to something under a tire... But with 250K on it, the engine and transmission are both ticking too...

3- Rebuilding/Used Options
  • If I need a transmission, shouldn't I just bite the bullet and yank the engine at the same time and freshen them both up?
  • Thoughts of getting a pair from a salvage yard? Thinking I could rebuild my existing hardware for less $, but more time? or close?
  • How hard is yanking this stuff out?