RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2006-2009 Range Rover Sport
8 Posts
i just bought my 2008 range rover yesterday and i found out last night coming home from dinner that the headlights arent working. my high beams do come on so i was able to get home safely, but i am thinking since both lights arent working it might be a fuse? like i said i am brand new to range rovers and could use some guidance. i have a appointment tomorrow at the local dealership but would like to not use it if possible..

thanks,
bobby

·
Premium Member
5,175 Posts
Its odd for both to be out as I believe the lights are fused left/right. And if a fuse is blown it usually indicates there a secondary problem with the ballast.

No other problems with the car that would indicate low battery voltage ie. needs new battery?

Or its possible either both HID bulbs are bad, or your ballasts are bad, or some combo. Either way if you have to replace ballasts and bulbs you are looking at a chunk of change, esp at the dealer.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the battery was dead before i test drove it... so it could be a battery thing.. is there any way i can check it myself?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
also there was no owners manuel either.. is there any availabe in pdf format i can download anyone know of?

·
Administrator
27,793 Posts
You can check your battery and alternator with a meter.

Did your headlights work before or did you not check them when you test drove it?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
unfortunately i was a little excited and didn't test the headlights yesterday morning during the test drive.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
all misspelling aside.. would a low battery cause just the headlights not to turn on?.. everything else is functional..

·
Premium Member
5,175 Posts