RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Turned on my RR P38 last night and realized that all exterior lights work on the car, however the left hand side is significantly brighter than the right. How many different bulbs go in the headlight and tail light ? Could one headlight bulb and one tail light bulb both be out on the same side and this gives the appearance of one side being brighter than the other ? Any and all help is greatly appreciated !

·
SUPER MODERATOR
27,705 Posts
Have you pulled the bulbs to check them? Have you looked in your owners manual to make sure they are the correct kind? If yes to both then it could be poor grounds.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm a rookie mechanic....... When you say grounds ? Do you mean the battery terminal ground wires ? Sorry for asking but mechanics is a new hobby of mine since purchasing my RR. Please elaborate and again thankyou for the help

·
Registered
400 Posts
In any circuit there has to be a supply and return. For a lamp to light, this circuit must be complete i.e. one side of the bulb should be connected to the + positive battery terminal and one to the - negative. In auto electrics, instead of running return wires from every component, the return is the chassis and body of the vehicle and is usually ( but not always) the - neg. The negative terminal on the battery is usually connected to the chassis or "ground". "Grounding" points can corrode and cause electrical problems, so it is always wise to check the ground points when any electrical problem arises.

Hope that helps
Mac

·
Registered
20 Posts