RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just finished the timing job on my 2012 Range Rover Sport Supercharged.

Most of the quotes I got to do the job were in the 6-8K range, which I thought was absolutely nuts! After having done the job, I can see why they charge that much . . . .

It was, ahem, fun. Easily the most difficult mechanical job I have ever tackled. I'm not a trained mechanic, but I am certainly mechanically inclined (mechanical engineer by degree). The hardest part of the job is ROOM - obviously when you put a honking motor in a small truck there isn't going to be much room, but man-o-man there are some tight spots when you do this job. I've never had more skinned knuckles. I've also never had such sore hips, lower back, and shoulders. (and I'm a very fit guy)

Anyway, this isn't intended to be a DIY, because there are already 2 fabulous resources available:
  1. The factory workshop manuals (see the sticky at the top of the forum)
  2. Atlantic British video - thanks to Gareth and the AB team for recording the video! (in fact I spoke to Gareth several times during my project)
The AB video really helped give me the confidence that I could do the job. However, the AB video is on a naturally-aspirated truck. There are some nuances with a supercharged truck, so my intention here is to fill in a few of those gaps and provide some extra info. If you are not the DIY type, perhaps it can provide extra insight when talking to your mechanic. (and help make sure they aren't ripping you off)

Review both #1 and #2 above in detail before beginning the job. In fact, even if you don't do this yourself, you will find those resources useful, especially the AB video.

I have created a 23 page document with pictures you may find useful - instead of embedding all the images in the thread I have placed the document here. It's a Dropbox link which should never expire.