RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are looking at a 2015 HSE with 48k miles on it, (we are also open to a RRS). Although we can afford it, Id rather not spend some of the high prices on basic/easy maintenance. For the Range Rover veterans, what maintenance can be done easily at home (I.e. Oil changes)? Would you suggest doing this yourself or is it worth just taking it in, might I add the closest LR dealership is 45 min. Also, since Im new to LR, what should I look for before buying? And to add, pending any huge failures, what are some things I can expect to happen as a RR owner? Would you recommend an extended warranty, or just bank the money and use it if needed?

Ive always talked myself out of a RR every time we are buying a new car. Id like to convince myself this time to pull the trigger. The other car we are looking at is a 16' Land Cruiser.

·
Registered
199 Posts
I do oil & filter changes annually myself on my L405. Super easy, especially with a pump to extract from the top. Recommend not paying someone to do that.

I was going to do my brakes/rotors this year but ultimately had an independent do them, which he did in one hour and way better/faster and cheaper than I could have.

·
Registered
337 Posts
I remember the land rover dealer here told me the oil change on my old evoque was $299, oil change on my 5.0 L405 $299. I NEVER go to the dealer. Even if its a warranty issue that won't cost me anything I dread going to the dealer. Most are a big scam and the people working in service are as knowledgeable as a blind monkey.

I buy the LIQU MOLY JLR specific oil, it costs me around $70. The filter is around $50 (i buy it from the dealer, im sure cheaper can be found online) and I give my mechanic $20 to do the job. $140 for oil change which I like to do every 3k miles.