RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The goal this year is to get the P38 off pavement at least a few times... be it at a beginner course or simple fire road trails...

I am somewhat new to 4x4 vehicles and am curious about the viscous coupling system on the P38's transfer case. Once traction is “lost” how much time for the gel component inside of the VC to heat up and do its thing? 30 seconds? Several minutes or more? I understand there could be multiple variables at play depending on the terrain and how many wheels have lost traction and such.... I’m just curious if there is an approximation for the amount of time the system takes to engage. Obviously this assumes healthy transfer case internals. I’ve performed the “one wheel test” with a breaker bar and all appears to be in good shape on my truck in this case. The only other cars I’ve had with any sort of locking diffs were a pair of Audi 4000s, and those were vacuum controlled.

Thanks for satisfying my curiosity!

·
Super Moderator
2,318 Posts