RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so i'm a bit of a noob when it comes to understanding the quirks and eccentricities of these range rovers so some help would be very much appreciated.

My car is a 2000 4.0 se ranger rover and its been stuck in park for a few months.
I searched around on the internet for a solution to my problem and found some info stating that sometimes if you have a brake light out it wont let you take the vehicle out of park (some kind of safety issue i guess, not sure if its true or not) i did have a brake like out so i replaced it but it still wouldn't come out of park. Then i read that it could be the brake light switch, my brake lights do work but since its a pretty inexpensive part i just ordered a new one and replaced it. Once again no luck.
So far Ive tried just about every fix Ive been able to find. From checking the shifter knob to make sure it wasn't broken to checking all my various fuses. My shifter knob is fine and i couldn't find a single blown fuse.
I remember that before it wouldn't come out of park there was a clicking sound coming from the right passenger seat (at least thats where i think it was, it was kind of hard to place) when i depressed the brake. Now there is no clicking sound once the brake is depressed. There is a clicking sound coming from the area right behind my steering wheel when i try and pull pack the shifter. There is also a "whurring sound" for about 2 seconds when i press on the brake.
I really have no idea why it wont come out of park and i really need to get this figured out. Not having a car makes everyday life extremely difficult. I dont have to money to take it to a dealership because the closest one is about 70 miles away.
Please, if someone has any input as to how to fix this i would be eternally grateful

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
1,851 Posts
Hi

ETM says:

Selector Interlock
The Gear Selector Lever may only be moved out of