RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - this is my first time here. I have an '84 4d Classic (sitting marooned in the floods in the bush in Kenya). At some stage it had an engine swap, the original V8 for a diesel from an '87 classic. The part I am trying to identify is a short shaft from the rear of the gear box that connects with the propshaft as it has sheared and I am trying to find a replacement before returning to Kenya in a few days. Grateful for any help!

sheared RR gearbox shaft.jpg

·
Registered
295 Posts
So this is a differential pinion shaft and somebody has overtorqued the nut. Depending on the year model the diffs come in two ratio's 4.7:1 and 3.54:1, obviously you would need to know which type is fitted. you also have a very course spline, most are finer and you need to make sure you have the matching drive coupling. Finally some designs have a crush washer while others use spacers.

However in general changing one side of the gear set is not recommended and likely to result in a lot of noise.

The preferred solution here is to source a new diff (4.7 or 3.54) the diffs have not changed over years and are all interchangeable so they are easy to source and cheap to get (but heavy to transport). One more consideration is that if your diff pan does not have a filler point you want to make sure the diff has the filler point, most later ones done and without you will have a hard time filling it (can be filled with wheel draft shaft removed)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you - is there any way (without having it in hand) that I can tell whether this is a 4.7:1 or 3.54:1 ratio? and what the spline type is? or I am I just better in sourcing a rebuilt diff?

·
Registered
295 Posts
My parts book states only one type of pinion shaft (surprise), but the partnumber is for a pair (pinion and grown gear) 594493. There is a note stateing that it can be either BSF (early) or UNF (late).