RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I'm a noob posting here but have been a lurker for some time to either look at pics or read up on new stuff. Its unfortunate that my first post is regarding issues with my wheel on a 2008 RRS but it is what it is.
While driving on 495 MD I went over a small pothole doing roughly 60-65 and immediately heard what I thought was the tire explode, pulled over to the side and checked it out but couldn't see anything wrong other than it had started losing air. I got roadside assistance to come out and when the man took the tire off we both couldn't see any gashes on the tire until I noticed a ripped opening on the inner part of the rim. Although, I thought it was very strange, we really couldn't see how bad the rip was since it was at night and the tire was still intact and on the rim but the damage was more clearer when the dealership took the tire off...Here's where things got interesting....when I visited the dealership their initial reaction was to say "its not a defect" and give quotes to have the tire and rim replaced. Then once they took the tire off I was told it was caused by contact of an object on the road which was wrong........