RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off hello to all

Now the help bit :-( I have a 1999 4.6 HSE that won,t start , the problem started 2 days ago when i returned home and found the indicator lights glowing so opened and closed it using the key fob and they went out . The next day i tried to start it and it turned over without starting , i ran the battery flat so had to charge it and recode the key . A friend of mine can over with his AA laptop and got the following codes P1667 and P1672 his laptop did not say what these codes meant . So can anyone point me in the right direction please
Regards Paul

·
Registered
640 Posts
I think you will find the are related to the engine immobiliser anti theft signal etc.

Cheers

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Col
Any idea on what i need to look for ie broken wire or could the becm and ecm have lost there sink ?
Regards Paul

·
Registered
665 Posts
I'm new to the p38 but the relay box under the hood sounds lthe ike a culprit. probably water damage

·
Registered
922 Posts
This is possibly one of those quirky P38 things! :geek:
The BECM has an "EMS number" in its memory which can be altered and rewritten.
The Fuel Injection system ECU ...called the EMS, has a specifically labelled "EMS number" in its memory which is fixed.
Sometimes... including if the battery has been let run low... the EMS number in the BECM can become corrupted.
When you put the key in the ignition, the BECM compares its EMS# with the reference number stored in the EMS.

If the numbers are different, the BECM may allow the engine to turn over, but it will not activate the fuel pump...

Solution: The BECM memory has to be recoded with the correct EMS reference number.

To do this you need to be able to get inside the BECM and the EMS: either a Testbook or a Faultmate (a laptop add-on).... code readers won't help other than possibly identifying the issue..