RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I'd say thank you to all the contributors at this site for all the valuable information I've learned over the years. I bought my 1998 P38a in 2001. With the help here, i've replaced my heater core o rings, air springs (arnott), hoses, door latches, rear windshield washer hose and many miscellaneous little things.

Unfortunately I had a slipped liner that would cause the car to overheat in heavy traffic, climbs and hot days. I've been driving it once a week on a 50 mile round trip for the last 18 months in this condition and it did just fine. I also have many other problems:

Headliner has peeled off
Brake accumulator is done
Brakes are shot
Checkbook symbol is on
EAS is broken - flashes like a XMAS tree
passenger electric seat is broken
heated seats are broken
sunroof is broken

I took it to British Car Service 18 months ago, and they said it needed at least $13k in repairs (new engine to start with) - just not worth it. They advised me to drive it into the ground.

And then Cash for Clunkers came! I signed up, the rover is crushed and I used the $4500 credit towards a Prius for my girlfriend. I don't use a car at all during the week. It was really sad driving the car to the dealer to turn it in, that rover has been with me for 8 years. 95 degrees out, rush hour traffic in the Valley on the 405, heater on full blast, radiator gauge in the red with the light on - that's the way to go!

So , thanks again for all the tips, tricks and good reads over the years.

·
Registered
226 Posts
I have a 1990 Volvo on the list, I almost sold it twice for a couple hundered bucks, now it's worth $3500 or $4500 or maybe even $6000 if I buy a new Volvo, gotta love that customer loyalty.

·
Premium Member
2010-2012 Range Rover MkIII / L322
4,635 Posts
Tim (Scotland) said:
viperover said:
CRUSHED, you kidding right.......$13k to fix, that sounds over the top to me