RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. New to the forum as I don't own a Range Rover anymore but I am a mechanic and I'm a little stuck so figured I'd ask the experts! I currently have a 2000 Range Rover HSE 4.6 and it's having the ever famous melting fuse box issue. I've found fuse boxes anywhere from $100 used up to $250 new and or used YIKES. I'm thinking of grabbing a used one but am sceptical about receiving a fuse box that may be only days away from failure like the current one is. My question is has anyone ever tapped into the wires coming into the fuse box (big coonectors on bottom) to move relays out of the box and bypass the printed circuit board? If not, can it be done or does the printed circuit board do other things that direct wiring to a relay wouldn't? Also.. does anyone have the pin outs or wiring diagram for the fuse panel? I've searched the service manual but can't find anything. Not sure if it's not in there or am I looking in the wrong sections? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advanced!

·
Registered
1,417 Posts
Remote mounting the relays has been done in extreme heat situations, and it is fairly straight forward.
I would however seriously consider putting in a new fuse board as by the time you put all of your labor into a "Fix" you will have more than paid the extra 100-125 cost for a fuse board that should last for the next 16 years..........
If this was your own ride, then you get to live with your repair, but as I am guessing this is a customers truck, you would not be doing them a favor by trying your work around.

·
Registered
343 Posts
There are threads on here how to repair and improve the fusebox (do a search) but as Bolt says this is not in your customers interest because of the hours you have to spend on it. Buy new (for the right model!).

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4