RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So as I was driving my 99 down the freeway thursday night at 4am i heard this horrible metal on metal grinding and clunking noise and all of a sudden loss of power. My front drive shaft fell out of the diff and was draggin on the ground. The Ujoints let loose along with the seal and all the diff fluid was draining out on the highway. I had it towed and when we got it off the truck, the shaft feel all the way off. What I need to know is it ok to drive with only the rear shaft in place while I source out a new shaft and repair? And how can I tell if there was any damage done to the front differential?? Please someone help as I am fairly new to 4wd vehicles. or if any one have pics of the front diff so i can plan the repair? Thanks sorry my first post had to be done in this matter as I have been watching the forum for a few months.

here is a pic of my baby.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Have an experienced person look at the damage before moving it. If the Pinion flange is broken off the diff will need to come out.
Also of note, please add your location to your profile so you can be directed to the closest repair and parts facilities :wink:

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
Previous reply is good advice. If you have mechanical interest then at least test runout of pinion shaft on front diff with a dial micrometer. Also would be good to figure out if transfer case front end took a beating when this happened. Some on this site have driven on one shaft only but I believe you might lose effectiveness of parking brake and park lock-up. Sprry to hear of that trouble at that time of day. Any prior symptoms like vibration before it all let go? Keep us posted.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4