RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I recently purchased a 1999 range rover p38. I busted the front differential. My question is does any know where I can get a rebuild kit or can I just buy a after market setup to rebuild it. Will other setups work. I'm new to 4wds and I need help

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
492 Posts
ALLFour x 4 spares in Australia has them but no one knows where you are so probably no good for you though???
x

·
Super Moderator
2,222 Posts
Ashcroft transmissions if you are in the UK but if you've blown a front diff chances are your viscous coupling in the transfer case is seized which is what did the diff. So you'll need one of those too.

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
359 Posts
Ashcroft transmissions if you are in the UK but if you've blown a front diff chances are your viscous coupling in the transfer case is seized which is what did the diff. So you'll need one of those too.
How tight is that viscous coupling? When I jack a front wheel up on mine I can't spin it..

·
Super Moderator
2,222 Posts
You won't be able to. To test the viscous unit on the car you need to remove the front propshaft and use a torque wrench on the front output shaft nut. Apply a clockwise torque of 27 Nm to output flange nut. If no resistance to turn is felt, unit requires replacing. If resistance to turn is felt, apply a clockwise torque of 20Nm,to output flange nut for 1 minute, this should result in a rotation of approximately 25° - 30°. If no rotation or a greater force is required, unit is seized and requires replacing.

·
Premium Member
1970-1995 Range Rover Classic
455 Posts
Visco

there is an easier way to do it. find some large patch of gravel road.

lower you windows or get somebody else to listen outside
Drive an 8

if your rear tyres rub a lot in the gravel it is locked up

front diff

they usually die for lack of oil
bearings are the same as in the Disco 1 Defender etc.