RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day folks,

This is my first time posting but have always came here first to check out problems and solutions for my RR Autobiography.

This morning after taking daughter to school I was home for about an hour. When I tried to leave I got the “smart key not found” I replaced the battery in the fob, and still no luck. I searched here and unplugged the positive terminal to battery for over 2 minutes, no dice. I removed fuse 17 from behind glove compartment, no dice.

I did a hard reset on the battery and still no luck. It sounds like it is trying to crank and all the lights flash inside car but it won’t turn over. All other functions when “on” work as windows, radio, AC, etc

Please see the video below

Does this sound like it could be the fuel pump or starter? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks much for your time

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, as a heads up, I tried to jump it with a battery tender and used voltage meter and it read 12.55v

I tried putting the fob under the steering column and it did the same thing as well.

However, My wife just told me the other day when driving home the whole dash console went black for the last 5 minutes she was driving but the radio and AC were working fine. Could this be an electrical wiring issue?

·
Registered
107 Posts
How old is the battery? Did you check voltage whilst running at the battery/alternator? When the battery is checking-out, all kinds of funky stuff can happen.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’m not sure how old the battery is. While I had the cables unplugged during the hard reset I used voltage meter and it was reading 12.55vs but as I can’t get it to turn over and start I’m not sure what it is while running.