RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2010-2012 Range Rover MkIII / L322
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm concerned! Keep in mind, I know the best answer to the question about I'm to ask is to sit in AND DRIVE the trucks I'm asking about.

I've owned two, RR full-size in the past (2008 L322 and 2010 L322), and one of my favorite aspects of the trucks was the high, commanding, driving position. I've been driving a Maserati Ghibli for the past two years, and I want to get "back up in the air" again.

So, I want a 2016 RR Sport V8. I'm a little concerned the cockpit might not be as big, luxurious, and commanding a position as the RR flagship full-size, however.

Keep in mind, I'm very tall at 6'4" with 36" inseam and relatively thin at 190 pounds, so I need leg room more than a large, "I have a big belly" cockpit. :)

So, folks who have been able to compare the old, L322 against the new L405 full-size AND have some experience driving the L494 RR Sport, I'm dying to hear your opinions on driver seating position.

Thanks in advance!

Darrin

·
Registered
154 Posts
Full size RR sits higher. Sport is a bit more of a cockpit feel since the new model. Very open and spaceous, but lose that higher sitting position. I do miss that. Although at 6 4" I would say you may not notice the change in the sport as much.

·
Registered
2019-2021 Range Rover Sport
476 Posts
I had 3 l322s in a row and went with a new RRS. You sit lower, but there isn't as much of a difference in space as you might imagine.

·
Registered
65 Posts
When I sit in my RRS, I definitely sit lower then my RR. The transmission gear selector and steering wheel spoke layout also gives you more of that "cockpit" feel. In my RR, I can tell the difference with the seat height, the rotary knob, steering wheel spoke layout, and center console gives it a more "openness feeling".