RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, all:

I haven’t posted on the forum in over a year. I see a lot of familiar names (where’s Rufant?) and plenty of new ones, as well. I bought an LR3 (Disco 3) in May of ’09 and have been neglecting my ’95 LWB as a result but it’s time to get her back in shape.

I have a head gasket leak and it’s time to do the deed. I’ve never done this job before but am confident; I have good tools, a Rave CD, a trustworthy machine shop, a reliable parts supplier and, of course, this forum.

After reading up (here and elsewhere), I’ve decided to take what seems like good advice and replace the radiator/water pump, camshaft/lifters and timing components while I’m in the vicinity. So, as I get ready to jump into this, I have some questions:

1. It seems that the camshaft can be replaced with the engine in the truck and without much more tear down than is already done to remove the heads. Is this true and what are the tricks to do it?

2. If I replace the camshaft, do I need to replace the bearings, too? My fear is that this will require more tear down and the machine shop to do it. I’m trying to get this done with as much of my own labor as possible and in my own driveway.

3. Are there other components that I should be thinking about replacing while I’m in this job (beyond the obvious gaskets, hoses, flame trap, etc.)?

I appreciate any thoughts. It’s good to be back.

Cheers,
Bob

·
Registered
523 Posts
I've done other engines, but not the V8, however an engine's an engine.

The camshaft can be changed in situ, as long as there's nothing in the way of you pulling it out of the front of the engine (radiator, front grille, etc).

Ref the bearings, I'm not sure they are user replaceable, and you shouldn't need to. However you do need to be careful when installing the new camshaft, ensuring that it goes in square and doesn't damage the bearings.