RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone I am a complete newbie to Range Rovers but have always wanted one and have just bought an LPG 1991 3.9 EFI Vogue Se Auto, and I love it :).

The only problem is that when the engine is warm and up to temperature, pressure builds up in the header tank and water is expelled quite violently. (as soon as i notice I always stop and switch off). Shes done this twice this week and i've given her a complete service, checked all the hoses, and there is no evidence of overheating or a knackered headgsket, i've even done the die test and it stayed blue. Otherwise she drives great, smooth, no smoke from cold and firing on all cylinders. There is also absolutely no evidence of leaks from anywhere else, including the Heater Matrix.

I ran her stationary and on idle for about half an hour earlier (very hot day) with the header tank cap off (new), there was no bubbling or steam, however the coolant gradually rose to the top and began to gently overflow, when i switched off the ignition it overflowed much more quickly. (This doesn't seem normal to me from previous experience, but I have no experience with Rangies and big V8 s lol) . She was standing in someone's garage for about 6 months before I bought her, so I suspect a blockage somewhere in the system or an air lock.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated, Warmest Regards
ROB

·
Registered
199 Posts
Re: HELP! Coolant Pressure-Overflow through header tank-

As far as I know there are only threee reasons for this symptom.

1. Blown head gasket. Pressure from compression geting into the water jacket. If you have done the chemical test that looks for hydrocarbons (blue dye?) and it is clear then this is almost certainly not the problem. But not definately.

2. Weak mixture. Bad inlet manifold gasket causing weakening ofmixture which burns far too hot and causes the overheating. Possible.